What is “Truth”?

Not having a job fills my allotted time for the day with less than I’d like. At school I was busy, and at the moment, days are sliding right off the calendar without effort. My “yesterdays” are too close because time looks compressed with nothing to do. Netflix is great and all, but the service isn’t going to get me somewhere in life. I’m not going to pay for it, because there are still many less costly alternatives.

The act of spending money means more to us than the products purchased. That tells you something about our society, doesn’t it? Our monetary system is kinda screwy, and there are more companies out there making a profit off our instincts. I have an innate drive to sacrifice, but spending money provides an easy way out. I can see how some never learn the value of actual sacrifice, because there are messages constantly pelted at us from all sides. “Buy shit, and let us carry the burden of your dollar.” Ads on the radio, full-page displays in print media, proprietors soliciting at your front door, busses plastered with propaganda and I’m getting sick of it all.

The one thing that upsets me the most, is that pharmaceutical companies are allowed to advertise in our country. Tell people what your pill fixes, and tell them to ask a doctor about it. You know someone’s going to nag so much, that the doctor prescribes medication that isn’t really needed. Does this tactic bring in more revenue than goes out on the ads? Does telling people to “ask their doctor about… YOUR PILL HERE” really make us better off?

I don’t have a source for this, but I’ve been taught that getting a drug approved by the FDA is the most costly process out of any other country. I’m to assume that this advertising then creates unnecessary demand for a drug that’s probably overpriced. The majority of this price is passed on to the insurance companies, which are “evil” in our minds. In theory they’d be helpful if there wasn’t the profit motive, but they kinda help… a litte. This process is overly complicated and I’m still left scratching my head as to the net effect of all this on our society.

Business school seems to be all about making money. From the courses I’ve taken so far, the goal is to attain some dollars for yourself or the company that you will work for. What a horribly empty notion. You can go work for a dollar, but I want to work for the challenge and sacrifice. I want to spend hours working on something and then do it mostly for whomever has the problem. That’s what I want to put my skills towards, not management or sales. I don’t really know what I will do with a minor in business administration, but it fills out my schedule so that I have to take a ful four years of college. If I hadn’t wrapped myself up in this nonsense, I could have graduated in three and a half years.. three if I had really pushed myself and known how college actually works.

but does anyone?

Here I am, writing out my thoughts because I have no other outlet on which to impart my ideas. Here you go internet, my gift to you. I hope someone out there enjoys these things I write.

Leave a Reply

