Reasons I’d Rather Live Somewhere Else

The US has an aging internet infrastructure which needs to be upgraded, but ISP’s instead implement usage caps. AT&T has, just today, started limiting how much you’re allowed to use the internet. The company is only going to set that ceiling lower and lower. It’s the same as limiting our rights and freedoms in a more general sense. Warrantless wiretaps, TSA body scanners, limited spending on education… all the more reason to leave this country. We say it’s okay to give a litte, or pay a little more while company’s costs fall lower and lower.

Our government is THE most in debt country, in the world (to external sources). This worries me and there’s little I can do about it. I vote in a free market with my money, so I’m going to vote for a country by my decision to live there.

I’m also not a fan of our education, healthcare or prison systems. The first two are wasteful in the wrong areas, and the third is also largely ineffective, in addition to wasteful. Revolving door policies never helped anyone. Can we care about the people in this country? I read a statistic somewhere, or heard it on NPR, that a majority of inmates are there due to drug related charges. Would alleviate two problems if some drugs were perhaps, legalized?

I wish marijuana were legalized and taxed. It would mean so much more income for our country, not to mention how much could be saved on NOT fighting the battle against those drug distributors. The market should be regulated and taxed, but I doubt it will happen soon. I’m not interested in using the substance, as it’s effects are somewhat damaging, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t allow others to use it as we do alcohol. I’m not completely against legalizing other drugs either, but we have to start somewhere.

I’ve resigned myself to accept the fact that I will not be receiving an offer for a programming or software development internship this summer. No matter that I’m skilled, enthusiastic, responsible, hold a cumulative GPA of 3.64 in an extremely intense major, also have most of a minor finished, a good person and willing to work… there must be really skilled people out there if I can’t get any offers. Someone should show me the competition, because not many people at NIU can compare.

I’ve been told on numerous occasions that I’m very good at writing, I did think about doing something with writing as a carer, but I’m fine where I am right now. Some people don’t like their majors, but I do. I couldn’t imagine studying anything else, unless I never find a job in this field.

I guess that’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

