Friday Night of Thought

Michael Hedges, really awesome.

Today a deal on the front page of SlickDeals pushed me to consider the XFX Radeon 5830 which made its way to the front page. I don’t need that much power by any means, but it was an option at the time since it cost only 142 after rebate. I still have my eye firmly on the 5750.. or 5770 which is a little bit better. (cost/performance thoughts there as well) Being the curious person I am, I posted a question for the fine people who frequent SD, and got a couple of fine suggestions.

“Hey, just go with a 5850 and run two because your PSU should support the two.”

I’m a little leery about this because multiple sources tell me otherwise, but logic dictates that not everyone can be correct. Who do I trust, the people who sell the products, or those who actually purchase them? While there is no obvious answer, I now have all cards between 5750 and 5850 on my mind.

(plus today I found out that AMD will be announcing their new 6000 series cards Oct. 19th)

November will be my target purchase date for these remaining pieces to my PC puzzle. Woo for having a desktop to keep me company over winter break. I imagine Steam games galore, SC2, Guild Wars f in stunning detail outside of the family desktop, The Sims 3, and I cross my fingers for Sim City 4 compatibility.

I still can’t decide how to partition my hard drive and which operating system to use as a primary. I’m leaning toward using Ubuntu as my primary, and having Windows 7 as a secondary… but I’d really like to see three partitions. Two for boot, and one to use as a common storage area. WIth the three partition solution, I’m left to find a common file system both wil use. I’ll probably end up using NTFS because I feel getting ext4 support in Windows 7 is going to be a pain.

I picture Windows as the stubborn uncle who refuses alphabetize his VHS tapes and uses an antiquated system of shelves in a basement, while Linux is a modern library where everything is organized in a logical fashion and easy to get to.

Some games will run on Linux, but none of them will run like a native Windows install… which makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

