Title?

“I feel like I don’t know of any good authors. That’s the regular status update plea, since I am anything but ordinary, I composed the following for you.

Back in Junior High I would read the likes of Gary Paulsen and any other adventure books I could get my hands on. Imagining the expansive landscapes and the things Brian had to do to survive were interesting. Going places I had never seen and those based in the wilderness were appealing because that was the era of camping with the Boy Scouts.

My Grandmother bought me my first Harry Potter book in.. let me check her note to me.. wow that was back in 1999. Before then I had no clue who Rowling was, I wonder what prompted her to buy that book for me. Now the spine is cracked and slanted from being opened so many times. I just finished reading it again, and I don’t know how many times it’s been, I lost count somewhere back in high school when I passed eight re-reads. Right when the new book came out, I got the hard cover edition. I never asked for much when I was a kid, so my mom was always glad to buy me a book to read. With zeal I would read the book straight through, engrossed in the story and loving every minute of the story.

The personal opinion differs, as it’s wont to do, on what book is the best. Mine is the fourth book. I felt it was the best balance between the various elements she weaves throughout the book. Oddly enough, it’s the one book in which the story doesn’t follow a main character playing Quidditch, instead it’s viewed from afar as a spectator. Much the same way I’m accustomed to sports. Plus the World Cup was extremely interesting because the reader is given some insight into the Wizarding world outside of Hogwarts and Voldemort’s schemes.

Back to my original aim, I’m in dire need of some fresh reading material, and I want you to keep some of the following things in mind.
-It’s a given I’ve already read the Harry Potter series and in addition to that I’m trying to re-read them all again.
-I started reading Madeline L’engle books in late grade-school, they kinda lost me but I made it through most of the Wrinkle in Time series (which I own).
-I’ve read a lot of Michael Crichton: Prey, Andromeda Strain, State of Fear, The Lost World, Jurassic Park, Sphere, Timeline and Airframe. With Crichton, I felt bored of his books because the style he writes in carries over from one book to the next.
-I’m a big fan of Douglas Adams but have already read The Complete Hitchhiker’s Guide (and own a very nice copy I found on Amazon for under $10) as well as Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency.
-Tolkien’s stories are great, but I’ve already read the trilogy and The Hobbit before that.
-I’ve read every Dan Brown novel until the latest one, which I wanted to pick up once I make it over to the Library.
-I tried getting through a Stephen King novel but the way it read didn’t pull me in, but I suppose if you have a suggestion, I’m open.
-The Halo books and for that matter any book that went from movie/game to written form is not what I’m looking for.

I like books and enjoy reading, but it’s been a while since I’ve found something fresh and exciting. Tell me what you think about my predicament, or be so bold as to suggest a book.

Leave a Reply

